Skip to content ↓

Our Curriculum-7 Areas of Learning

Our Nursery's curriculum and teaching is based on the government’s Early Years Foundation Stage Framework- Development Matters. This Framework shapes the educational programme in the Early Years and sets out children’s developmental progression across the prime and specific areas of learning from birth to five years.

The seven areas of learning are important and inter-connected.

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. The three areas reflect the key skills and capacities all children need to develop and learn effectively, and become ready for school.These three areas, known as the prime areas, are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development

The nursery supports the children in four further areas, known as the specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

At Hinguar we use a mixture of mini topics and interests of the child/children for planning learning opportunities to engage and develop their learning. Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.